India dominate Champions Trophy team of tournament

Winners India provided five players in the Champions Trophy team of the tournament announced by the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday.

World Cup holders India added another 50-over title to their collection, albeit in a match reduced by rain to 20 overs per side, when they beat hosts England by five runs in a thrilling final at Edgbaston on Sunday.

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was named as skipper of an all-star team that also included compatriots Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja and Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

England's Jonathan Trott and James Anderson were included along with Pakistan's Misbah-ul-Haq, Kumar Sangakkara from Sri Lanka, South Africa's Ryan McLaren and New Zealand's Mitchell McClenaghan.

Joe Root of England was the 12th man.

Dhoni was named as skipper after he led his side to victory in the final, thus becoming the first captain in the history of the game to lift all three major ICC trophies -- the 2007 World Twenty20 2007, 2011 World Cup and 2013 Champions Trophy.

While not at his best with the bat, Dhoni led India well in the field and his clever deployment of spin was reflected in the wicket-keeper's four tournament stumpings.

The team of the tournament was selected by a panel that included former India fast bowler turned match referee Javagal Srinath as well as leading Pakistani umpire Aleem Dar.

Champions Trophy team of the tournament (in batting order):

Shikhar Dhawan (IND) 363 runs

Jonathan Trott (ENG) 229 runs

Kumar Sangakkara (SRI) 222 runs

Virat Kohli (IND) 176 runs

Misbah-ul-Haq (PAK) 173 runs

MS Dhoni (IND, capt/wkt) 27 runs, 5 catches, 4 stumpings

Ravindra Jadeja (IND) 80 runs and 12 wickets

Ryan McLaren (RSA) 83 runs and 8 wickets

Bhuvneshwar Kumar (IND) 6 wickets

James Anderson (ENG 11 wickets

Mitchell McClenaghan (NZL) 11 wickets

Twelfth Man:

Joe Root (ENG) 173 runs