In blow to Iran hard-liners, moderates win clerical assembly

Iran's moderates have dealt another blow to the country's hard-liners, winning the majority of seats in last week's vote for the Assembly of Experts, a clerical body empowered with choosing the nation's supreme leader.

Top moderates — President Hassan Rouhani and former President Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani — both won seats in the assembly, along with 50 other allies. The vote for the 88-member Assembly of Experts was held at the same time as the country's parliament elections.

Iran's Interior Ministry announced the final results for the clerical assembly on Monday. It says moderates won 59 percent of the seats. And though it's seen as a historic win for the moderates, several prominent hard-liners have also been re-elected.

Assembly chief, hard-line Ayatollah Mohammad Yazdi, was not re-elected.