EU sanctions 3 Libyans for blocking UN-backed government

The European Union is imposing sanctions on three Libyan officials accused of hindering the new U.N.-brokered unity government there from beginning its work.

The EU identified the three in its official journal on Friday as Agilah Saleh, parliament head in the eastern city of Tobruk; Khalifa Ghweil, head of the so-called National Salvation Government; and Nuri Abu Sahmain, who leads the outdated General National Congress.

The three face travel bans and asset freezes.

Libya has been split between rival governments since 2014, a consequence of the chaos that engulfed the country after a 2011 uprising that toppled and killed longtime dictator Moammar Gadhafi.

U.N.-brokered talks to get a unity government up and running have been bogged down.