England put South Africa in to bat in Trophy semi

England captain Alastair Cook won the toss on an overcast day and sent South Africa in to bat in the Champions Trophy semi-final at the Oval in London on Wednesday.

Both teams were without key players due to injuries. South Africa missed premier fast bowler Dale Steyn and England were without leading spinner Graeme Swann.

England: Alastair Cook (capt), James Anderson, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, Eoin Morgan, Joe Root, James Tredwell, Jonathan Trott.

South Africa: AB de Villiers (capt), Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Colin Ingram, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Robin Peterson, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Chris Morris.

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI) and Rod Tucker (AUS)

TV umpire: Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

Match referee: Javagal Srinath (IND)