UCF, Louisville headline American Athletic Conference postseason award winners

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

UCF quarterback Blake Bortles and Louisville defensive end Marcus Smith, who led their teams to 11-1 records in the regular season, have been selected American Athletic Conference Offensive and Defensive players of the year.

The awards were announced Wednesday. In addition, UCF coach George O'Leary was chosen as Coach of the Year, and Houston return specialist Demarcus Ayers and Memphis punter Tom Hornsey were special teams players of the year. Houston quarterback John O'Korn was chosen as rookie of the year.

O'Leary led the Knights to the outright American title and berth in the New Year's Day Fiesta Bowl.

First- and second all-conference teams were announced, with UCF and Louisville having 11 players each on the all-conference teams. Cincinnati had nine players selected for the honor.