Towson to play two FBS schools in 2012

After winning its first CAA Football championship this season, the Towson University football team will play a challenging schedule in 2012.

Coach Rob Ambrose and the Tigers will make a pair of visits to Football Bowl Subdivision schools, in the season opener on Sept. 1 at Kent State and on Sept. 29 at LSU, which will play for the BCS national title next month.

Towson's other non-conference game will be against St. Francis (Pa.) of the Northeast Conference on Sept. 22.

Within CAA action, the defending champion Tigers will play at home against William & Mary (Sept. 15), Maine (Oct. 13), Old Dominion (Oct. 20) and Rhode Island (Nov. 10). Their road games are against James Madison (Oct. 6), Villanova (Oct. 27), Delaware (Nov. 3) and New Hampshire (Nov. 17).

Towson finished 9-3 this season and will return 17 starters, including FCS scoring leader Terrance West, who had 29 touchdowns as a freshman running back.

2012 TOWSON UNIVERSITY FOOTBALL SCHEDULE

Saturday, Sept. 1, at Kent State, Dix Stadium, Kent, Ohio

Saturday, Sept. 15, WILLIAM & MARY*, Unitas Stadium, Towson, Md., 7 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 22, ST. FRANCIS (PA.), Unitas Stadium, Towson, Md., 7 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 29, at Louisiana State, Tiger Stadium, Baton Rouge, La.

Saturday, Oct. 6, at James Madison*, Bridgeforth Stadium, Harrisonburg, Va.

Saturday, Oct. 13, MAINE*, Unitas Stadium, Towson, Md., 7 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 20, OLD DOMINION*, Unitas Stadium, Towson, Md., 7 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 27, at Villanova*, Villanova Stadium, Villanova, Pa.

Saturday, Nov. 3, at Delaware*, Tubby Raymond Stadium, Newark, Del.

Saturday, Nov. 10, RHODE ISLAND*, Unitas Stadium, Towson, Md., 3:30 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 17, at New Hampshire*, Cowell Stadium, Durham, N.H.

* - Colonial Athletic Association games