Top seeds advance in Aussie openers

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

Melbourne, Australia ( - No. 1 seed Novak Djokovic was an easy winner on Tuesday, and all five Top-10 seeds in action advanced past the opening round at the Australian Open on Day 2.

The four-time Australian Open champ Djokovic disposed of Aljaz Bedene, 6-3, 6-2, 6-4. Fourth-ranked Stan Wawrinka moved on in similar fashion, topping Marsel Ilhan 6-1, 6-4, 6-2.

Djokovic titled here in 2008, then won three straight from 2011-13 before Wawrinka took the crown last year, edging Rafael Nadal in the final. Nadal, the No. 3 seed in 2015, advanced on Monday.

Fifth-seeded Kei Nishikori beat Nicolas Almagro 6-4, 7-6 (7-1), 6-2, eighth- ranked Milos Raonic was a 7-6 (7-3), 7-6 (7-3), 6-3 winner over Illya Marchenko and No. 9 David Ferrer survived a stiff test from Thomaz Bellucci, dropping the first set before edging the Brazilian 6-7 (7-2), 6-2, 6-0, 6-3.

No. 12 Feliciano Lopez trailed two sets to one before rallying past Denis Kudla, 3-6, 6-2, 4-6, 6-2, 7-6 (7-5), while 13th-seeded Roberto Bautista Agut got past Dominic Thiem, 4-6, 6-2, 6-3, 7-6 (7-5).

Other ranked winners included 18th-seeded Gilles Simon, 19th-seeded John Isner, 30th-seeded Santiago Giraldo and 31st-seeded Fernando Verdasco.

No. 16 Fabio Fognini was upset by Alejandro Gonzalez, and 27th-seeded Pablo Cuevas fell to Matthias Bachinger.

Also advancing to the second round were Adrian Mannarino, Andreas Haider- Maurer, Gilles Muller, Go Soeda, Marius Copil, Jarkko Nieminen, Donald Young, Steve Johnson, Ivan Dodig, Guillermo Garcia-Lopez, and Marcel Granollers.