Teixeira, Molina nab fifth Gold Glove awards

New York Yankees first baseman Mark Teixeira and St. Louis Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina each picked up their fifth career Gold Glove awards when they were announced on Tuesday.

Teixeira's teammate, second baseman Robinson Cano, was also voted as the top fielder at his position in the American League.

Three Orioles were honored in catcher Matt Wieters, shortstop J.J. Hardy and outfielder Adam Jones. Rangers third baseman Adrian Beltre picked up his fourth Gold Glove, while Kansas City's Alex Gordon and Oakland's Josh Reddick rounded out the AL outfield.

Tampa Bay Rays pitcher Jeremy Hellickson and Chicago White Sox ace Jake Peavy shared the award in the AL, ending a three-year reign by Mark Buehrle.

Buehrle moved to the National League last season and captured the Gold Glove in his first year with the Marlins.

There were five first-time winners in the NL: Nationals first baseman Adam LaRoche, Cubs second baseman Darwin Barney, Padres third baseman Chase Headley, Pirates outfielder Andrew McCutchen and Braves outfielder Jason Heyward.

Phillies shortstop Jimmy Rollins and Rockies outfielder Carlos Gonzalez earned their fourth and second Gold Glove, respectively.