SFA's Johnson named Southland player of the year

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

Frisco, TX (SportsNetwork.com) - Stephen F. Austin running back Gus Johnson was named the Southland Conference Player of the Year on Tuesday.

He was joined with Southland honors by SFA quarterback Zach Conque, the newcomer of the year, and Zach's father Clint Conque, the coach of the year.

Southeastern Louisiana quarterback Bryan Bennett was named the offensive player of the year, Central Arkansas defensive end Jonathan Woodard the defensive player of the year and Sam Houston State defensive end P.J. Hall the freshman of the year. Offensive lineman of the year honors went to Central Arkansas tackle Cole Carruthers.


(As voted by the conference head coaches and sports information directors)


QB - Bryan Bennett, Southeastern Louisiana, Sr.

RB - Gus Johnson, Stephen F. Austin, Sr.

RB - Keshawn Hill, Sam Houston State, Sr.

TE/HB - Noah Cheshier, Abilene Christian, Sr.

WR - Dezmin Lewis, Central Arkansas, Sr.

WR - Mark Roberts, Lamar, Sr.

WR - Ed Eagan, Northwestern State, Jr.

OL - Cole Caruthers, Central Arkansas, Sr.

OL - Antoine Everett, McNeese State, Sr.

OL - Donald Jackson III, Sam Houston State, Jr.

OL - Jonathan Braddock, Southeastern La., Sr.

OL - Byron Williams, Stephen F. Austin, Jr.

AP - Ed Eagan, Northwestern State, Jr.

PK - Ryan Adams, Southeastern Louisiana, Sr.

First-Team Defense

DL - P.J. Hall, Sam Houston State, Fr.

DL - Jonathan Woodard, Central Arkansas, Jr.

DL - Kevin Dorn, McNeese State, Sr.

DL - Nick Richardson, Abilene Christian, Sr.

LB - Isiah Corbett, Southeastern Louisiana, Sr.

LB - Collin Garrett, Stephen F. Austin, Sr.

LB - Marion Chapman, Northwestern State, Sr.

DB - Imoan Claiborne, Northwestern State, Sr.

DB - Aaron Sam, McNeese State, Sr.

DB - Trenier Orr, Sam Houston State, Jr.

DB - Michael Wade, Sam Houston State, Sr.

DB - Harlan Miller, Southeastern Louisiana, Jr.

P - Lachlan Edwards, Sam Houston State, Jr.

KR - Jatavious Wilson, Central Arkansas, So.

PR - Ed Eagan, Northwestern State, Jr.