SEC lines up nine bowl bids for 2014

The Southeastern Conference has announced agreements with nine postseason bowl games for the start of the 2014 season, as well as a new bowl selection process for conference members.

The deals extend for six years and coincide with the new College Football Playoff that starts with the 2014 campaign.

"We are pleased to have established a lineup of premier bowl games that will give our student-athletes a wonderful postseason experience and our fans the opportunity to travel to venues in the geographical footprint of the conference," said SEC commissioner Mike Slive.

Under the new SEC bowl system, the Capital One Bowl in Orlando, a long-time SEC bowl, will have the first selection of available SEC teams after any conference schools have qualified for the College Football Playoff, the Sugar Bowl or the Orange Bowl.

Following the Capital One Bowl, there will be a pool of six bowls comprised of renewals with the Outback Bowl in Tampa, Music City Bowl in Nashville, Gator Bowl in Jacksonville and Liberty Bowl in Memphis, as well as new agreements with the Texas Bowl in Houston and Belk Bowl in Charlotte.

The SEC has also renewed its relationship with the Birmingham Bowl and the Advocare V100 Bowl in Shreveport. The Birmingham Bowl will have the first selection of available teams following the pool of six bowls. The Advocare V100 Bowl will have the next selection of available teams following the Birmingham Bowl.