- Image 1 of 2
- Image 2 of 2
EAST RUTHERFORD, N.J. – Referee Jerome Boger explained in a pool report the penalty committed by Patriots defensive tackle Chris Jones that negated a missed Jets field goal in overtime. Nick Folk soon made a 42-yarder to win the game 30-27 Sunday.
Pool reporter Mike Reiss asked Boger: "Please explain the penalty that was called on No. 94 (Jones) on the field goal."
Boger: "The call was that No. 94 on the defense pushed his teammate into the formation. That is a rule change for 2013 that a teammate cannot push a teammate into the opponents' formation."
Reiss: "Is it any type of push? Is it a two-handed push?"
"Any push. It could be with the body, not necessarily with the hand, but with the body into his teammate, into the formation. It's any type of pushing action."
Reiss: "Is there anything else to go over with this penalty?"
Boger: "No, the umpire's flag went up almost instantaneously as he observed the action. We just enforced it as he called it.
Reiss: "And that's a 15-yard penalty."
Boger: "For unsportsmanlike conduct."
AP NFL website: www.pro32.ap.org