Pitt's Donald cleans up at awards ceremony

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

Lake Buena Vista, FL (SportsNetwork.com) - The conference titles have been fought for and won. The bowl matchups are set.

On Thursday night, college football's best were honored individually during an awards ceremony at Disney World, and Pittsburgh's Aaron Donald was the big winner.

The senior defensive tackle took home the Chuck Bednarik Award as the nation's top defensive player and the Outland Trophy as the nation's top interior lineman, in addition to already having the Lombardi Award and Nagurski Trophy under his belt.

Alabama quarterback A.J. McCarron surprisingly took home the Maxwell Award, which signifies the nation's top all-around player. The senior signal-caller beat out last year's Heisman Trophy winner, Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M, and this year's favorite, Jameis Winston of Florida State.

Winston did, however, capture the Davey O'Brien Award as the nation's top quarterback as well as the Walter Camp Award, which honors the college football player of the year as voted by coaches and sports information directors.

Also on Thursday, Oregon State's Brandin Cooks won the Biletnikoff Award (wide receiver), Boston College's Andre Williams was given the Doak Walker Award (running back), Michigan State's Darqueze Dennard was the recipient of the Jim Thorpe Award (defensive back), Florida State's Roberto Aguayo captured the Lou Groza Award (place-kicker) and Memphis' Tom Hornsey took away the Ray Guy Award winner (punter).