The regular season for the NBA Development League began Friday with two new teams, a new president and four players already called up to NBA clubs.

There are a league-record 18 teams, including new entries in Westchester, New York, and Grand Rapids, Michigan. All but one team has a single affiliation with its NBA parent club.

Six games were on the opening-night schedule and another seven were scheduled for Saturday, including defending champion Fort Wayne against Sioux Falls.

The NBA D-League's 14th season is the first under new president Malcolm Turner, the former managing director of Wasserman Media Group's golf division. Each team plays 50 games and the regular season ends in early April.

More than 25 percent of current NBA players have D-League experience.