Akron's Darlington Nagbe won the Hermann Trophy on Friday as the top men's college soccer player, and Stanford's Christen Press took the women's honor.

Nagbe, a junior forward and midfielder, helped the Zips win the NCAA title, the school's first in NCAA competition in any sport. He had seven goals and 13 assists last season, and is among the top prospects in next week's Major League Soccer draft.

Press, a senior forward, scored 26 goals last season, the most in the nation and tying the Stanford record as the Cardinal reached the NCAA final, where it lost to Notre Dame.

For the first time in the history of the award, given by the Missouri Athletic Club, both winners were from the same schools as the previous year. Teal Bunbury, who went on to an excellent rookie season with the Kansas City Wizards, and Kelley O'Hara won last year.

The previous back-to-back winners of the men's award from the same school were Duke's Thomas Kain and John Kerr in 1985-86. The men's award began in 1967 and the women's award in 1988.

Indiana junior forward Will Bruin was second for the men's award, followed by Louisville junior forward Colin Rolfe. Bruin also is in next week's MLS draft.

In the women's award, Notre Dame junior forward Melissa Henderson was second, followed by California senior forward Alex Morgan, whose goal in the first leg of a playoff gave the U.S. a 1-0 victory at Italy that helped the Americans qualify for his year's Women's World Cup.

Voting is done by NCAA Division I soccer coaches.