Monterrey won the CONCACAF Champions League title on Wednesday, taking the two-game series with a 3-2 aggregate total against fellow Mexican club Santos Laguna after a losing the second game 2-1 Wednesday night.

Monterrey, which won the first leg 2-0 last week, became the first team to win consecutive championships since Pachuca did it in 2007 and 2008. Mexican clubs have won seven consecutive titles and 13 of the last 17.

Monterrey's Neri Cardozo, an Argentine, scored the deciding goal in the 82nd minute, converting a pass from second-half substitute Walter Ayovi.

"This team had lots of personality, and that's how we won it," Monterrey coach Victor Manuel Vucetich said.

Daniel Luduena, also an Argentine, scored in first-half injury time for Santos and Oribe Peralta had a goal in the 51st minute.

The title gives Monterrey a berth in the Club World Cup in Japan later this year.

Monterrey played without top striker Humberto Suazo, who scored both goals in the first leg. The Chilean was suspended from the match because of an accumulation of yellow cards.

"Sadly I couldn't be in there," Suzao said. "One feels really bad watching from the outside. We are deserving champions and now we can try to improve in Japan."