Triple Crown winner Miguel Cabrera and Angels' rookie Mike Trout have been named as finalists for the AL MVP award.

For the first time, the Baseball Writers Association of America named the five finalists for both the AL and NL MVP Award, along with finalists for the 2012 Cy Young, Manager of the Year and Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year awards.

Cabrera and Trout are joined by Rangers teammates Adrian Beltre and Josh Hamilton along with Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano.

Last year's NL MVP Ryan Braun headlined the group from the NL that includes Padres third baseman Chase Headley, Pirates outfielder Andrew McCutchen, Giants catcher Buster Posey and Cardinals backstop Yadier Molina.

Justin Verlander, the reining AL Cy Young winner, David Price and Jered Weaver are finalists in the AL while R.A. Dickey, Gio Gonzalez and 2011 NL winner Clayton Kershaw round out the NL nominees.

Trout was also named a finalist for the AL Rookie of the Year along with A's outfielder Yoenis Cespedes and Rangers pitcher Yu Darvish. Bryce Harper, Todd Frazier and Wade Miley are all in consideration in the NL.

World Series champion Giants manager Bruce Bochy, Reds skipper Dusty Baker and Davey Johnson of the Nationals were all named nominees for the NL Manager of the Year.

The A's Bob Melvin, Orioles' Buck Showalter and White Sox Robin Ventura are all being considered for the AL.