Michigan's Burke wins Wooden Award

Michigan sophomore guard Trey Burke has been selected as the winner of the John R. Wooden Award, presented annually to the top men's college basketball player.

Burke is the first Michigan player chosen for the honor, which was created in 1977 to honor the legendary UCLA coach. He is the fourth Big Ten player to win the award and first since Ohio State's Evan Turner in 2010.

The Big Ten Player of the Year has led Michigan to its first Final Four since 1993. He has started all 37 games for the Wolverines, and leads the team with averages of 18.8 points and 6.8 assists, while adding 3.1 rebounds.

Burke edged Indiana's Victor Oladipo in balloting from a nationwide panel of college basketball media members. Burke received 2,808 points, just 90 more than Oladipo. Creighton's Doug McDermott was third with 2,344 points and Georgetown's Otto Porter was next with 2,144.

Last year's winner was Kentucky freshman Anthony Davis.