Michael Jordan, Vin Scully, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar to receive Presidential Medal of Freedom

The White House announced Wednesday that President Barack Obama will award the Presidential Medal of Freedom to Bulls legend Michael Jordan, broadcasting icon Vin Scully, and all-time NBA top scorer Kareem Abdul-Jabbar later this month.

Jordan, Scully and Abdul-Jabbar are the three sports personalities among the 21 total recipients this year, a list that also includes Bruce Springsteen, Ellen DeGeneres, Robert De Niro, Tom Hanks and Diana Ross.

The trio joins a very small list of men and women from the world of sports to receive the award. Following the ceremony on November 22nd, President Obama will have awarded 123 medals in total, 22 more than Ronald Reagan (101), who ranks second on the list.