ORLANDO -- The Orlando Magic will host the Mountain Dew Orlando Pro Summer League at the teams practice court at the Amway Center from July 1-6, 2017. The 20-game, six-day event will feature teams from the Orlando Magic, along with the Charlotte Hornets, Dallas Mavericks, Detroit Pistons, Indiana Pacers, Miami Heat, New York Knicks and Oklahoma City Thunder. This will be the 14th year that Orlando has hosted a summer league.

Each team will play five games over the six-day event, with a championship day being played on the final day of the league. A point system will establish the standings leading up to the final day, with eight points awarded each game based on: four points for winning the game and one point for winning a quarter (in the event of a tied quarter, each team will receive 0.5 points). In the event of ties in seeding heading into championship day, three tiebreakers will be in place: 1) total point differential; 2) total points allowed; 3) coin flip.

Due to space limitations, the event is not open to the public and will be open only to the media and professional team/league personnel. Fans can access box scores, game recaps and cumulative statistics by visiting www.orlandomagic.com.

Broadcast information for the Mountain Dew Orlando Pro Summer League will be released at a later date.

A complete game schedule for the Mountain Dew Orlando Pro Summer League is listed below. The Magics roster will be released at a later date.

Mountain Dew Orlando Pro Summer League Schedule

Saturday, July 1, 2017

1st game: 11:00 a.m. -- Charlotte @ Miami

2nd game: 1:00 p.m. -- Orlando @ Indiana

3rd game: 3:00 p.m. -- New York @ Dallas

4th game: 5:00 p.m. -- OKC @ Detroit

Sunday, July 2, 2017

1st game: 1:00 p.m. -- New York @ Detroit

2nd game 3:00 p.m. -- Orlando @ Miami

3rd game: 5:00 p.m. -- Indiana @ Charlotte

Monday, July 3, 2017

1st game: 1:00 p.m. -- New York @ OKC

2nd game 3:00 p.m. -- Orlando @ Dallas

3rd game: 5:00 p.m. -- Indiana @ Miami

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

1st game: 1:00 p.m. -- Charlotte @ OKC

2nd game 3:00 p.m. -- Indiana @ Dallas

3rd game: 5:00 p.m. -- Miami @ Detroit

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

1st game: 1:00 p.m. -- Dallas @ OKC

2nd game 3:00 p.m. -- Charlotte @ Detroit

3rd game: 5:00 p.m. -- Orlando @ New York

Thursday, July 6, 2017 (Championship Day)

1st game: 8:00 a.m. -- 8th place @ 7th place

2nd game 10:00 a.m. -- 6th place @ 5th place

3rd game: 12:00 p.m. -- 4th place @ 3rd place

4th game: 2:00 p.m. -- 2nd place @ 1st place




Four 10-minute quarters

Eight-minute halftime

Ten-minute warm-up period prior to the start of each game

Teams are in the penalty on the 10th team foul or second in the last two minutes

Players foul out on their 10th personal foul

Each team will receive two full timeouts per half

Mandatory timeouts will be taken at the first stoppage of play after 5:59 and 2:59 of each quarter

A timeout taken by a team will negate the next mandatory timeout in that quarter

Timeouts do not carry over

All timeouts will be 1:45 in duration

Each team will also receive one advance (stop play, ability to substitute, and inbound the ball from the 28 mark in the frontcourt) in the last two minutes of the 4th quarter and in any overtime period


Two-minute overtime period

Each team is allowed one timeout

Each team is allowed one advance

Penalty begins on the 2nd team foul

The second overtime period is sudden death (first team to score a point wins)

All other NBA rules apply.


Each team will play five games over the six-day event

Standings will be kept over the first five days of the league according to a point system (described below)

Every team will play their fifth and final game against the opponent seeded most closely to them in the standings

  • For example, the two teams with the highest point totals will play in the Championship game; the teams with the third and fourth-highest point totals play in a third place game, etc.


Standings over the first six days of the league will be kept using an EIGHT-POINT SYSTEM. In this system, eight points are awarded each game and distributed as follows:

  • Four points for winning the game
  • One point for every quarter a team wins (in the event of a tied quarter, both teams will receive 0.5 points)

As a result, the winning team in each game can collect between five to eight points, while the losing team can collect from zero to three points.


Championship seeding will be determined by a teams total points in the league standings

In the event of a tie, the following tie-breaker steps will be in place:

Tiebreaker 1: Total point differential

Tiebreaker 2: Total points allowed

Tiebreaker 3: Coin flip

NOTE Overall or head-to-head win/loss record will NOT impact championship day seeding. Seeding will be determined solely by the criteria above.


Orlando's NBA franchise since 1989, the Magic's mission is to be world champions on and off the court, delivering legendary moments every step of the way. The Magic have seen great success in a relatively short history, winning five division championships (1995, 1996, 2008, 2009, 2010) with seven 50-plus win seasons and capturing the Eastern Conference title in 1995 and 2009. Off the court, on an annual basis, the Orlando Magic gives more than $2 million to the local community by way of sponsorships of events, donated tickets, autographed merchandise and grants. Orlando Magic community relations programs impact an estimated 100,000 kids each year, while a Magic staff-wide initiative provides more than 7,000 volunteer hours annually. In addition, the Orlando Magic Youth Foundation (OMYF) which serves at-risk youth, has distributed more than $22 million to local nonprofit community organizations over the last 27 years. The Magics other entities include the teams newly acquired NBA Development League affiliate, the Lakeland Magic, which begins play in the 2017-18 season in nearby Lakeland, Fla.; the Orlando Solar Bears of the ECHL, which serves as the affiliate to the Toronto Maple Leafs of the NHL and the Toronto Marlies of the AHL; and will compete in the inaugural season of the NBA 2K esports league in 2018. Ticket highlights for the Magic's 2017-18 season in the Amway Center, honored with TheStadiumBusiness Awards 2013 Customer Experience Award and named SportsBusiness Journal's 2012 Sports Facility of the Year, include: 2,500 seats priced $20 or less, 8,000 seats priced $40 or less and 9,000 seats priced $50 or under. For ticket information log on to www.orlandomagic.com or call 407-89-MAGIC.