JR Motorsports enters Truck Series with driver Cole Custer

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

Mooresville, NC (SportsNetwork.com) - JR Motorsports announced on Monday that it will expand into the Camping World Truck Series, with driver Cole Custer competing in 10 races during the 2015 season.

JRM, which is co-owned by Sprint Cup Series driver Dale Earnhardt Jr., his sister, Kelley Earnhardt Miller, and Sprint Cup team owner Rick Hendrick, has two full-time teams competing in the Xfinity Series, with drivers Chase Elliott, the reigning series champion, and Regan Smith.

Custer, who is the son of Stewart-Haas Racing executive vice president Joe Custer, will drive the No. 00 Chevrolet Silverado truck. His team will receive primary sponsorship from Haas Automation Inc. Joe Shear Jr. will serve as Custer's crew chief. Shear guided his efforts in the series last year.

"This is a new and exciting venture for us," Earnhardt Miller said in a team statement. "We have come a long way since racing street stocks in 2002, and we are constantly evolving. Expanding into the Truck Series on a part-time basis is furthering our growth. Bringing in a talent like Cole and a great partner like Haas Automation is a great way to do that. I'm proud of the direction we're heading."

Custer, a Ladera Ranch, California native, became the youngest driver ever to win a NASCAR national touring series race by taking the checkered flag for a Truck Series event last September at New Hampshire. He made his first nine starts in the series this past season. Custer will turn 17 years old later this month.

"I'm so excited to get this season started," Custer said. "With all that JR Motorsports has accomplished over the past few years, we know we have everything needed to go win races and compete. I couldn't ask for a better opportunity with a better organization. I really want to thank Haas Automation, along with Kelley and Dale Jr., for putting this deal together."

Custer's Truck Series schedule with JRM will include races at Martinsville (March 28 and Oct. 31), Dover (May 29), Gateway (June 13), Iowa (June 19), Eldora (July 22), Bristol (Aug. 19), Canada (Aug. 30), New Hampshire (Sept. 26) and Phoenix (Nov. 13).