Johansen picked first in All-Star draft

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

Columbus, OH ( - Columbus Blue Jackets forward Ryan Johansen was the first overall pick Friday in the NHL All-Star Fantasy Draft.

He was snapped up by Team Foligno, who won the coin toss.

Johansen, a member of the host city's club and a teammate of captain Nick Foligno, has totaled 17 goals and 26 assists over 45 games. He put together a 13-game point streak from Dec. 18 through Jan. 17.

The second overall pick, for Team Toews, went to Toronto Maple Leafs forward Phil Kessel. Kessel, who was famously the last player picked in 2011, has compiled 19 goals and 25 assists over 48 appearances.

The first-ever trade was consummated late in the draft by Team Foligno, which swapped dynamic Dallas Stars winger Tyler Seguin to Team Toews for Kessel.

Latvian hero and 21-year-old Buffalo Sabres forward Zemgus Girgensons, who unexpectedly led all players in fan voting with 1,574,896 tallies in his favor, was selected by Team Toews.

Toews ended up with the following additional players: Anaheim's Ryan Getzlaf and Rangers forward Rick Nash as alternate captains; Flyers winger and NHL leading scorer Jakub Voracek, Islanders captain John Tavares, Blues forward Vladimir Tarasenko, Bruins defensive specialist Patrice Bergeron, veteran forward Patrik Elias of the Devils, Lightning center Tyler Johnson along with Calder Trophy candidate and Nashville center Filip Forsberg.

Defensemen Shea Weber (Nashville), Brent Seabrook (Chicago), No. 1 overall pick and Panthers rookie blueliner Aaron Ekblad, Minnesota's Ryan Suter, Mark Giordano from the Calgary Flames and Hurricanes d-man Justin Faulk, along with goaltenders Corey Crawford (Chicago), Jaroslav Halak (Islanders) and Roberto Luongo (Canucks) rounded out Toews' team.

Foligno ended up taking the following additional players: alternate captains Patrick Kane of the Blackhawks and Drew Doughty from the Kings; centers Anze Kopitar from Los Angeles and Steven Stamkos from Tampa Bay, Flyers captain Claude Giroux, wingers Bobby Ryan of the Senators and Radim Vrbata from the Canucks, Washington superstar Alex Ovechkin and Oilers pivot Ryan Nugent- Hopkins.

The defense consisted of Chicago's Duncan Keith, Dustin Byfuglien of Winnipeg, re-converted backliner Brent Burns from San Jose along with youngsters Kevin Shattenkirk from St. Louis and Arizona's Oliver Ekman-Larsson. Montreal's Carey Price, Marc-Andre Fleury of Pittsburgh and Brian Elliott from the Blues were the selected goaltenders.

Predators head coach Peter Laviolette will be in charge of Toews' group while Los Angeles bench boss Darryl Sutter will guide Foligno's picks in Sunday's All-Star Game.