Baltimore's Nick Markakis was the American League's representative in right field on the Gold Glove Award team, ending a run of 10 consecutive defensive honors for the Mariners' Ichiro Suzuki.

Markakis was one of the five first-time winners in the AL, joining Baltimore catcher Matt Wieters, Angels shortstop Erick Aybar, Royals left fielder Alex Gordon and Red Sox center fielder Jacoby Ellsbury.

White Sox pitcher Mark Buehrle, Red Sox first baseman Adrian Gonzalez and Rangers third baseman Adrian Beltre each won their third Gold Glove, while Boston's Dustin Pedroia captured his second to round out the AL squad.

In the National League, Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina topped all award winners with his fourth defensive honor. Los Angeles' Clayton Kershaw, the front-runner for the Cy Young Award, took home his first Gold Glove, as did Reds first baseman Joey Votto, Diamondbacks left fielder Gerardo Parra and Dodgers right fielder Andre Ethier.

Reds second baseman Brandon Phillips and Phillies third baseman Placido Polanco each won their third Gold Gloves, while Rockies shortstop Troy Tulowitzki and Los Angeles center fielder Matt Kemp won their second.