A trio of ex-Indianapolis Colts moved a step closer to the Hall of Fame on Thursday.

Former head coach Tony Dungy, wide receiver Marvin Harrison and running back Edgerrin James were announced among the 15 finalists for induction in the Pro Football Hall of Fame's 2016 class.

Via the Colts' official website, this marks the third straight year Dungy and Harrison have been finalists for induction, and the first time James has made the final 15.

Dungy led the Colts to a victory in Super Bowl XLI, while taking his team to the playoffs in 11 of the 13 years as head coach with Indianapolis and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

Harrison is third on the NFL's all-time list in catches with 1,102, seventh in receiving yards with 15,580 and fifth in touchdowns with 128.

James is the Colts all-time leader in rushing yards with 9,226.

The other finalists are Brett Favre, Kurt Warner Terrell Owens, Alan Faneca, Terrell Davis, Morten Andersen, Steve Atwater, Kevin Greene, Joe Jacoby, John Lynch, Orlando Pace and Don Coryell.

The Hall's class of 2016 will be announced the day before the Super Bowl in February.