Falcons make final wave of cuts, will keep two QB's

The Atlanta Falcons waived eight players man limit, with quarterback John Parker Wilson the most notable of the team's cuts.

Wilson, who had served as Atlanta's No. 3 quarterback the past two seasons, was waived along with safety Rafael Bush, wide receivers Kevin Cone and Drew Davis, guard Andrew Jackson, linebacker Robert James, defensive end Emmanuel Stephens, offensive tackle Jose Valdez. The Falcons also released veteran center Brett Romberg and reached an injury settlement with rookie tight end Ryan Winterswyk.

Atlanta made its first round of roster cuts on Friday, releasing defensive linemen Chauncey Davis and Trey Lewis and linebacker Coy Wire and reaching an injury settlement with wide receiver Andy Strickland. The Falcons also waived tight end Marquez Branson, fullback Lucas Cox, centers Paul Fenaroli and Ryan McMahon, safeties Matt Hansen and Suaesi Tuimanuei, wide receiver Brandyn Harvey, running back Gartrell Johnson, defensive ends Tom McCarthy and Kiante Tripp, cornerback Kamaal McIlwain, safety Rafael Priest and linebacker Bear Woods.

Wilson's departure leaves veteran Chris Redman as the only quarterback behind Pro Bowl honoree Matt Ryan on the current depth chart. Atlanta had waived undrafted rookie Adam Froman on Thursday.

Davis and Wire were the two most significant of Friday's deletions. Davis had been with the Falcons since 2005 and was a valuable reserve who compiled 140 tackles, 10 sacks and two interceptions in 96 career games (25 starts). Wire has spent nine seasons in the NFL, including the past three with Atlanta, as a reserve linebacker and special-teams player.

Jackson was chosen by Atlanta in the seventh round of this past April's draft out of Fresno State.