Everything you need to know about Sunday's Chase opener

The build-up is over.

The 2015 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup finally begins with Sunday's myAFibRisk.com 400 at Chicagoland Speedway, where 16 drivers will look to gain an early edge in the battle for the Sprint Cup championship.

Jimmie Johnson, Matt Kenseth and Kyle Busch enter the race in a three-way tie for the points lead by virtue of each recording a series-leading four wins in the regular season.

Of the 16 Chase drivers, 11 have wins this season, while five drivers made the cut based solely on their position in the standings at the conclusion of the regular-season finale.

Only 12 points separate the three championship leaders from the bottom five Chase drivers, who are the guys without a win.

The winner of Sunday's race at the 1.5-mile track in Joliet, Illinois automatically punches his ticket to the 12-driver Chase Contender Round that begins Oct. 10 at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Here's everything else you need to know about Sunday's Chase opener:

Green flag: 3:16 p.m. ET


"NASCAR RaceDay" -- 11:30 a.m. ET on FS1

"FOX Sports Live" -- 11 p.m. ET on FS1

"NASCAR Victory Lane" -- Midnight ET on FS1

Forecast: Weather.com is calling for sunny skies, with a zero percent of rain throughout the day.

Honorary pace-car driver: Jon Seda, actor on "Chicago P.D." TV drama series

Grand marshals: Billie Jean King, 39-time Grand Slam tennis champion; Jerry West, 14-time basketball NBA All-Star

Honorary starter: Teri Ackerson, AFib patient/stroke survivor

National anthem: Jim Cornelison, Chicago Blackhawks national anthem singer

Defending race winner:

Brad Keselowski. Full race recap here.

Fastest in Practice 1:

Kevin Harvick. Full practice recap here.

Fastest in Practice 2:

Martin Truex Jr. Full practice recap here.

Fastest in Final Practice:

Martin Truex Jr. Full practice recap here.

Front row:

Kevin Harvick and Joey Logano. Full qualifying recap here.

Starting lineup: