New York, NY (SportsNetwork.com) - Landon Donovan and Thierry Henry claimed further notoriety on Tuesday by being named to the MLS Best XI for the 2014 season.

Los Angeles Galaxy midfielder Donovan announced earlier in the season that the 2014 campaign would be his last, calling time on a storied MLS career. Henry, meanwhile, revealed Monday that he will walk away from Red Bull New York after more than four years with the club.

Donovan's final MLS season was arguably his finest, headlined by his 10 goals and league-leading 19 assists. On May 25, Donovan became MLS' all-time leading scorer with a brace against the Philadelphia Union, surpassing Jeff Cunningham's mark of 134. He leaves the game with the all-time goals record with 144 tallies, as well as the all-time assists record with 136 helpers.

Henry recorded MLS career highs in starts (30), minutes (2,651), and assists (14). The Frenchman shifted from his forward position to the left flank for New York, a move that provided great service to striker Bradley Wright- Phillips, who also was included in the MLS Best XI.

Wright-Phillips produced 27 goals to tie the MLS single-season scoring record, registering six multi-goal games - including three hat tricks - in 32 appearances.

The MLS Best XI is rounded out by first-timer and finalist for the 2014 MVP award, Lee Nguyen of the New England Revolution and a contingent of international stars that have made a world of difference for their respective teams - Diego Valeri of the Portland Timbers, Obafemi Martins of Seattle Sounders FC and Robbie Keane of the Los Angeles Galaxy.

Listed below, in alphabetical order, are the 2014 Best XI within each position:

Goalkeeper: Bill Hamid (D.C. United) Defender: Chad Marshall (Seattle Sounders FC) Defender: Bobby Boswell (D.C. United) Defender: Omar Gonzalez (Los Angeles Galaxy) Midfielder: Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution) Midfielder: Landon Donovan (Los Angeles Galaxy) Midfielder: Diego Valeri (Portland Timbers) Midfielder: Thierry Henry (Red Bull New York) Forward: Robbie Keane (Los Angeles Galaxy) Forward: Bradley Wright-Phillips (Red Bull New York) Forward: Obafemi Martins (Seattle Sounders FC)