Division III-peat: UW-Whitewater wins again

Same story, different year.

Eric Kindler booted a 30-yard field goal late in the fourth quarter, proving to be the difference as Wisconsin-Whitewater captured its third straight Division III championship with a 13-10 Stagg Bowl victory over rival Mount Union on Friday.

It was the seventh straight meeting between the two teams in the championship game and fourth time in the last five years that Wisconsin-Whitewater prevailed.

Levell Coppage rushed for 91 yards and the only touchdown for the top-ranked Warhawks (15-0), while Matt Blanchard completed 9-of-13 throws for 97 yards.

Wisconsin-Whitewater held Jeremy Murray to 59 yards on 22 carries, while forcing Matt Piloto into three turnovers.

Piloto finished with 177 yards and two interceptions on 21-of-38 attempts for the second-ranked Purple Raiders (14-1), and threw an eight-yard touchdown pass to A.J. Claycomb with 3:20 remaining in the fourth, cutting the deficit to 13-10.

Mount Union got the ball back with time winding down, but Chris Denton was stopped short of the first down on 4th-and-10, sealing the outcome and extending the Warhawks' winning streak to 45.

Kindler's 44-yard field goal accounted for the only points of the first half.

Louissant Minett forced a Piloto fumble late in the third, leading to Coppage's one-yard plunge for a 10-0 lead with 4:02 remaining.

Tyler Almeida made it a one-possession game with a 19-yard field goal 3:37 into the fourth.