Dale Earnhardt Jr. has won NASCAR's prestigious Myers Brothers Award given to a person who makes significant contributions to the sport.

The award was named after short-track drivers Billy and Bobby Myers and has been presented annually since 1958. It is presented by the National Motorsports Press Association.

Earnhardt this year won the Nationwide Series championship as a car owner with Chase Elliott. He also made the Chase for the Sprint Cup championship and won four races.

But the award marked his participation in various racing series, the Dale Earnhardt Jr. Foundation and his 235 appearances for the Make-A-Wish Foundation — a stat that ranks in the top five of all athletes.

Earnhardt also has won NASCAR's most popular driver award 11 consecutive years.