CUP: Truex Grabs Bud Shootout Pole

Martin Truex Jr. drew the pole position for Saturday night’s Budweiser Shootout NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Daytona International Speedway.

As has been the custom in recent years, the 25 drivers drew their starting positions from Budweiser bottles as part of SPEED’s Budweiser Shootout Selection Show Friday night at the 2.5-mile track.

Truex was the 18th of 25 drivers to draw, and he will start on the pole in his No. 56 Michael Waltrip Racing Toyota. He’ll be flanked by Kyle Busch in the No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, with Brad Keselowski and on Row 2.

The Budweiser Shootout starting grid:

1. Martin Truex Jr., Michael Waltrip Racing

2. Kyle Busch, Joe Gibbs Racing

3. Brad Keselowski, Penske Racing

4. Jamie McMurray, Earnhardt Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates

5. David Ragan Front Row Motorsports

6. Kurt Busch, Phoenix Racing

7. Greg Biffle, Roush Fenway Racing

8. Dale Earnhardt Jr., Hendrick Motorsports

9. AJ Allmendinger, Penske Racing

10. Joey Logano, Joe Gibbs Racing

11. Carl Edwards, Roush Fenway Racing

12. Jeff Burton , Richard Childress Racing

13. Ryan Newman, Stewart-Haas Racing

14. Jeff Gordon, Hendrick Motorsports

15. Tony Stewart, Stewart-Haas Racing

16. Denny Hamlin, Joe Gibbs Racing

17. Clint Bowyer, Michael Waltrip Racing

18. Jimmie Johnson, Hendrick Motorsports

19. Kasey Kahne, Hendrick Motorsports

20. Michael Waltrip, Michael Waltrip Racing

21. Marcos Ambrose, Richard Petty Motorsports

22. Kevin Harvick, Richard Childress Racing

23. Matt Kenseth , Roush Fenway Racing

24. Paul Menard, Richard Childress Racing

25. Juan Pablo Montoya, Earnhardt Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates

Tom Jensen is the Editor in Chief of, Senior NASCAR Editor at RACER and a contributing Editor for You can follow him online at