Ohio State announced six players who will serve as captains for the 2015 football season as the Buckeyes attempt to defend the national championship.

Two of the six are among the trio of players who have led Ohio State to notable victories as quarterbacks over the past three seasons: J.T. Barrett and Braxton Miller. Whether that means anything or not in terms of Barrett beating out Cardale Jones for the starting quarterback nod remains to be seen, but it is worth pointing out the captains were chosen not by the coaching staff but by popular vote of players.

"This was the most players I've seen receive votes for captains," Ohio State coach Urban Meyer said in a team news release. "We had 14 players receive votes, but these six separated themselves. This is one of the great accomplishments these young men will experience, to be elected by their peers. And it is very well deserved."

Joining Barrett and Miller -- who will at least begin the season at receiver as he continues to recover from shoulder surgery that caused him to miss all of last season -- as captains from the offense are senior center Jacoby Boren and senior left tackle Taylor Decker.

On defense, Ohio State's captains will be senior linebacker Joshua Perry and junior safety Tyvis Powell.

Miller was also selected a captain last season despite his preseason injury. He becomes the ninth two-time captain in Ohio State history.

Meyer has said he will not name his starting quarterback publicly before the Buckeyes open the season at Virginia Tech on Labor Day night.