Bears waive 14 players, including Aromashodu

The Chicago Bears waived 14 players on Sunday, including wide receiver Devin Aromashodu, tight end Leonard Pope and safety Tom Zbikowski.

Last season, Aromashodu had 11 receptions for 182 yards in 15 games with the Vikings. Selected by the Dolphins in the seventh round of the 2006 NFL Draft, Aromashodu has 78 catches for 1,193 yards and five touchdowns in 61 career games with the Colts, Bears and Vikings.

Pope caught three passes for nine yards and two touchdowns in 16 games (two starts) with the Steelers last season. In seven seasons with the Cardinals (2006-08), Chiefs (2009-11) and Steelers, Pope has 105 receptions for 982 yards and 11 touchdowns.

Zbikowski had 38 tackles, one sack and one interception in 11 games for the Colts last year. Prior to that, he played four seasons for the Ravens. In 64 career games, he has 126 tackles, two sacks and three interceptions.

In addition, the Bears waived running back Curtis Brinkley, defensive tackles Eric Foster and Brent Russell, offensive tackle A.J. Lindeman, center P.J. Lonegan, safety Derrick Martin, defensive end Kyle Moore, tight end Gabe Miller, linebackers Patrick Trahan and Lawrence Wilson and punter Tress Way.

The Bears current roster currently stands at 76 active players. They need to cut one more player by Tuesday.