Americans lead women's shortlist for FIFA best player award

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

ZURICH (AP) Seattle Reign teammates Hope Solo and Megan Rapinoe, along with Carli Lloyd of the Houston Dash, are among 10 players shortlisted for the 2015 Ballon D'Or award for the women's world player of the year.

The United States, which won the World Cup in July, is the best represented country on the shortlist with the three players.

Canada's Kadeisha Buchanan, who plays for West Virginia University, is also in the running, along with Germany's Nadine Angerer, who won the award in 2013 and is on the roster of the Portland Thorns.

Japan, which lost 5-2 to the U.S. in the cup final on May 5, has one representative - Aya Miyama - while Germany and France have two players each among the 10.

Brazil's Marta, who won the award every year from 2006 to 2010 and was the runner-up last year, did not make the shortlist.

FIFA also listed 10 names for the women's team coach of the year award.


Player shortlist:

Nadine Angerer (Germany/Brisbane Roar/Portland Thorns) Ramona Bachmann (Switzerland/FC Rosengard)

Kadeisha Buchanan (Canada/West Virginia University)

Amandine Henry (France/Olympique Lyonnais)

Eugenie Le Sommer (France/Olympique Lyonnais)

Carli Lloyd (U.S./Houston Dash)

Aya Miyama (Japan/Okayama Yunogo Belle)

Megan Rapinoe (U.S./Seattle Reign)

Celia Sasic (Germany/1.FFC Frankfurt)

Hope Solo (U.S./Seattle Reign)