Alabama's Ingram wins Heisman Trophy

NEW YORK (Reuters) - Running back Mark Ingram of top-ranked University of Alabama won the Heisman Trophy for the best college football player on Saturday in the closest vote ever for the award.

University of Texas quarterback Colt McCoy, University of Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh and University of Florida quarterback Tim Tebow, the 2007 winner, completed the top five.

(Reporting by Gene Cherry in Salvo, North Carolina)