Eleven Eastern States Agree to Low Carbon Standard

BOSTON -- Eleven Eastern states have agreed to adhere to a new fuel standard that they hope will reduce greenhouse gases.

Massachusetts energy secretary Ian Bowles said Monday that the states will decide on a single standard for the entire region. He says it will create a larger market for cleaner fuels and the development of related technology.

The low carbon fuel standard requires a reduction in average greenhouse gas emissions per unit of energy. It applies to fuel for transportation and home heating.

The states include Massachusetts, New York, Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont.

In December, California adopted a sweeping plan to cut greenhouse gas emissions.