Republicans tap Boehner for third term as speaker

House Republicans have nominated Speaker John Boehner for a third two-year term leading the House.

Boehner, of Ohio, has served as speaker since 2011. Election of a new speaker will take place in January.

Republicans also re-elected California Rep. Kevin McCarthy as majority leader and Louisiana Rep. Steve Scalise as majority whip. McCarthy was elected majority leader, the No. 2 person in the House, earlier this year after former Majority Leader Eric Cantor of Virginia was defeated in a GOP primary.

Republicans expanded their majority in midterm elections last week.