A group of 34 GOP Senators has penned a letter to President Obama admonishing the administration for what it calls continued persecution of CIA agents who interrogated terror suspects using enhanced interrogation techniques.

"These Americans have our thanks and admiration, and our nation should honor them for their selfless service," the letter says. "Therefore, we find it extremely troubling that your Attorney General is apparently continuing to pursue charges against some of them for their actions during the previous administration."

Attorney General Eric Holder in 2009 appointed a special investigator to probe the interrogation methods used by CIA operatives on terror detainees. He recently said despite the killing of Usama bin Laden and questions over whether enhanced interrogations led the U.S. to the al Qaeda leader, the Justice Department will continue with its investigation.

In the letter, the Senators say they want the probe to come to an end, especially in light of bin Laden's death.

"We call on you to finally end the DOJ's unwarranted investigations of CIA interrogators, whose work led to one of the most defining moments of the Global War on Terror," the letter said. " These Americans did their jobs at the direction of the President of the United States. Punishing them for their actions, which likely saved lives by helping avert other terrorist attacks, will continue to have a chilling effect on the critical work of their colleagues and other national security professionals in the U.S. government. Our nation cannot afford these politically motivated investigations to continue."

The 34 Senators who signed the letter are:

Sen. John Cornyn, R-Texas

Sen. Jeff Sessions, R- Ala.

Sen. Roy Blunt, R-Mo.

Sen. Saxby Chambliss, R-Ga.

Sen. Richard Burr, R-N.C.

Sen. John Boozman, R-Ark.

Sen. Lindsey Graham, R-S.C.

Sen. John Barrasso, R-Wyo.

Sen. Mike Enzi, R-Wyo.

Sen. John Hoeven, R-N.D.

Sen. James Risch, R-Idaho

Sen. James Inhofe, R-Okla.

Sen. Mitch McConnell, R-Ky.

Sen. Rob Portman, R-Ohio

Sen. Jerry Moran, R-Kan.

Sen. Dean Heller, R-Nev.

Sen. Lamar Alexander, R-Tenn.

Sen. Ron. Johnson, R-Wis.

Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison, R-Texas

Sen. Mark Kirk, R-Ill.

Sen. Dan Coats, R-Ind.

Sen. John Thune, R-S.D.

Sen. Mike Johanns, R-Neb.

Sen. Roger Wicker, R-Miss.

Sen. Mike Crapo, R-Idaho

Sen. Kelly Ayotte, R-N.H.

Sen. Orrin Hatch, R-Utah

Sen. David Vitter, La.

Sen. Charles Grassley, R-Iowa

Sen. Marco Rubio, R-Fla.

Sen. Mike Lee, Utah

Sen. Johnny Isakson, R-Ga.

Sen. Pat Roberts, R-Kan.

Sen. Bob Corker, R-Tenn.