2014 James Beard Restaurant and Chef Award Winners

The winners of the 2014 James Beard Foundation restaurant and chef awards announced Monday are:


— Outstanding Chef

Nancy Silverton of Pizzeria Mozza in Los Angeles

— Outstanding Restaurant

The Slanted Door in San Francisco

— Rising star Chef of the Year

Jimmy Bannos Jr. of The Purple Pig in Chicago


Blaine Wetzel of The Willows Inn on Lummi Island in Lummi Island, Washington

— Outstanding Restaurateur

Barbara Lynch of Barbara Lynch Gruppo (No. 9 Park, Menton, B&G Oysters, and others) in Boston

— Best New Restaurant

Peche Seafood Grill in New Orleans

— Outstanding Pastry Chef

Dominique Ansel of Dominique Ansel Bakery in New York City

— Outstanding Service

The Restaurant at Meadowood in St. Helena, California

— Outstanding Wine, Beer or Spirits Professional

Garrett Oliver of Brooklyn Brewery in Brooklyn, New York

— Outstanding Wine Program

The Barn at Blackberry Farm in Walland, Tennessee

— Outstanding Bar Program

The Bar at the NoMad Hotel in New York City



— Great Lakes

Dave Beran of Next in Chicago

— Mid-Atlantic

Vikram Sunderam of Rasika in Washington, D.C.

— Midwest

Justin Aprahamian of Sanford in Milwaukee

— New York City

April Bloomfield of The Spotted Pig

— Northeast

Jamie Bissonnette of Coppa in Boston

— Northwest

Naomi Pomeroy of Beast in Portland, Oregon

— South

Ryan Prewitt of Peche Seafood Grill in New Orleans


Sue Zemanick of Gautreau's in New Orleans

— Southeast

Ashley Christensen of Poole's Downtown Diner in Raleigh, North Carolina

— Southwest

Chris Shepherd of Underbelly in Houston

— West

Daniel Patterson of Coi in San Francisco


James Beard Foundation America's Classics

— Hansen's Sno-Bliz in New Orleans

Owner: Ashley Hansen

— Nick's Italian Cafe in McMinnville, Oregon

Owners: Nick Peirano, Carmen Peirano and Eric Ferguson

— Olneyville New York System in Providence, Rhode Island

Owners: Stephanie Stevens Turini and Greg Stevens

— Perini Ranch Steakhouse in Buffalo Gap, Texas

Owners: Lisa and Tom Perini

— Sokolowski's University Inn in Cleveland

Owners: Bernard Sokolowski, Mary Balbier and Michael Sokolowski


James Beard Foundation Who's Who of Food & Beverage in America Inductees

— Edward Behr, food writer, St. Johnsbury, Vermont

— John Besh, chef and restaurateur, New Orleans

— David Chang, chef and restaurateur, New York City

— Barry Estabrook, writer, Vergennes, Vermont

— Paul Kahan, chef and restaurateur, Chicago

— Sherry Yard, pastry chef and author, Los Angeles


— James Beard Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award

Sirio Maccioni of Le Cirque in New York City

— James Beard Foundation Humanitarian of the Year

Matt Haley, philanthropist and restaurateur, Rehoboth Beach, Delaware