‘Wet Hot American Summer: Ten Years Later’ sequel series planned

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

Netflix is going ahead with a new series installment of "Wet Hot American Summer," greenlighting "Wet Hot American Summer: Ten Years Later" with an eight-episode order for a 2017 premiere.

"Ten Years Later" is a followup to the 2015 Netflix eight-episode limited series "Wet Hot American Summer: First Day of Camp," which was a prequel to David Wains cult 2001 feature comedy "Wet Hot American Summer." The movie was set on the last day at a fictional Jewish summer camp in 1981, while "First Day of Camp" was set on the first day of said camp. Like the title of the new installment suggests, it takes place 10 years later. It was set up by a conversation at the end of the movie where Bradley Cooper’s character Ben proposes,”Let’s all promise that in ten years from today, we’ll meet again, and we’ll see what kind of people we’ve blossomed into,” and all agree. Netflix used the scene in its announcement for "Wet Hot American Summer: Ten Years Later."

Wain and Michael Showalter, who wrote the movie and the limited series, are back as writers of "Ten Years Later," with Wain once again directing. There is no casting information yet on the new "Wet Hot American Summer" installment but, like "First Day of Camp," which reassembled virtually the entire original cast, with Paul Rudd, Janeane Garofalo, David Hyde Pierce, Christopher Meloni, Michael Ian Black,Elizabeth Banks, Amy Poehler, Bradley Cooper, Zak Orth, Judah Friedlanderand Showalter among those reprising their roles, the new installment will likely again feature a slew of original cast members.

The streaming network alluded at Cooper, Poehler, Banks, Showalter and Zak Orth coming back by featuring them in the original scene that teases "Ten Years Later."

Wain and Showalter are executive producing "Ten Years Later" alongside the films producer Howard Bernstein, Jonathan Stern and Peter Principato. All also exec produced "First Day of Camp," whose new cast additions included Josh Charles, Jon Hamm, John Slattery, Lake Bell, Chris Pine, Jason Schwartzman and Kristen Wiig.

Related stories
'Sense8': Aml Ameen Replaced By Toby Onwumere In Wachowskis' Netflix Series
'Fuller House': John Brotherton Upped To Regular For Season 2
Peabody Awards: 'Transparent', 'Black-ish' & 'Mr. Robot' Among Entertainment Winners