Selena Quintanilla, Eva Longoria, Gustavo Dudamel to get stars on Hollywood Walk of Fame

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

Selena Quintanilla is among the most beloved singers in the Latino community across the country. Her career and life were cut short more than 21 years, but her legacy lives on.

On Tuesday, the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce announced that it would be making the unique Mexican-American singer a permanent part of its Hollywood Walk of Fame.

“The Committee looked carefully at each nominee and we feel that we have selected a great group of talent that will appeal to the tastes of many fans around the world,” said TV producer Vin Di Bona, chair of the Walk of Fame Selection Committee, in a statement.

Quintanilla – known as the “Queen of Tejano music” – was shot and killed by Yolanda Saldivar in 1995. She was just 23 years old.

Her sister Suzette Quintanilla reacted to the news on Instagram.

“The world will know forever,” she captioned an image of her sister and her star.

Actress Eva Longoria, filmmaker George A. Romero and Gustavo Dudamel, director of the Los Angeles Philharmonic, are also among the Latinos selected for this year’s Walk of Fame class.

In a statement to Fox News Latino, which she also shared on her Instagram account, Longoria expressed her elation for the honor.

"OMG I'm so honored to be receiving a STAR on the Hollywood Walk of Fame! I remember moving to Hollywood nearly 20 years ago and going straight to the iconic street and looking at the stars saying 'I wanna have a star on this street one day!' I remember it so clearly, I was on the corner of La Brea and Hollywood Blvd. Thank you to the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce for making this dream of mine come true!" she said.

She added that the honor is enhanced because its at the same time as Quintanilla.

"What makes this even sweeter is that I stand side by side with my idol Selena Quintanilla! Corpus girls representing!" she said.

Dudamel, who is currently traveling, told FNL in a statement that he is thrilled and honored by the distinction.

"From Stern to Stokowski, classical music has inspired and transformed Hollywood over the years. This is an incredible honor for me," he said.

Others new members include Ryan Reynolds, Goldie Hawn, Jason Bateman, Amy Adams, Chris Pratt, Dwayne Johnson, Mark Ruffalo, Rita Wilson, NSYNC, Ice Cube, Keri Russell, Lee Daniels, Sarah Silverman and Jeffrey Tambor.

Lucia I. Suarez Sang contributed to this report.

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter & Instagram