Selena Gómez is a Big Winner in Nickelodeon’s "Kid's Choice Awards"

Selena Gómez was a big winner this weekend as the she took home Nickelodeon’s orange blimp for “favorite TV Actress” at this year’s “Kid’s Choice Awards.”

The “Wizards of Waverly Place” star was chosen for this award over other popular actresses such as Puerto Rican star Victoria Justice who is featured in Nickelodeon’s “iCarly” and “Zoey 101” series.

Gómez was also praised for her fashion sense and was named one of the best dressed attendees along with fellow actress Rosario Dawson.

“Modern Family” co-star Rico Rodríguez and "Arthur" leading man Russell Brand got covered in green slimy goo, a trademark of the “Kid’s Choice Awards” as they presented Eddie Murphy with the award for favorite voice from an animated movie for his role in "Shrek Forever After."

Jack Black, the zany master of ceremonies, kicked off the silly show by arriving in a monster truck, performing a flash mob-style routine on the orange carpet, then dancing alongside the Black Eyed Peas, who crooned a medley of their tunes while sporting outfits made of colorful blocks. He announced that more than 200 million votes were cast for the show.

More On This...

Other winners included "The Karate Kid" for movie, "The Karate Kid" co-star Jackie Chan for butt-kicker, "Despicable Me" for animated movie, "iCarly" for TV show, "The Suite Life on Deck" co-star Dylan Sprouse for TV actor, "iCarly" co-star Jennette McCurdy for TV sidekick, "American Idol" for reality TV show, "SpongeBob SquarePants" for cartoon and "Just Dance 2" for video game.

In the music categories, the winners of blimp-shaped trophies were the Black Eyed Peas for music group, Katy Perry for female singer and Justin Bieber for male singer and song for "Baby." The favorites in the sports categories were two-time Olympic gold medalist ski racer Lindsey Vonn and Boston Celtics basketball center Shaquille O'Neal.

Several celebrities received their own sliming. Heidi Klum was blasted with goop from an envelope. Jane Lynch delivered a slime slushie to Jason Segel, while Snoop Dogg was doused after performing with boy band Big Time Rush.

Josh Duhamel, who dressed up as an absentee Bieber, was inducted into the Arm Fart Hall of Fame and crowned in a slime throne.

Miley Cyrus, who was honored as favorite movie actress for "The Last Song," missed the green goo.

"Thank you for not sliming me," she said.

Justin Timberlake was awarded the show's silver Big Help trophy for his environmental and charitable work. He encouraged the audience to stand and scream if they've ever been helpful in their lives and encouraged children to listen to their parents.

Past winners of the humanitarian honor have included Leonardo DiCaprio and first lady Michelle Obama.

The 24th annual ceremony took place at University of Southern California's Galen Center Saturday night and had over 10,000 kids present.

Or via Twitter: @GalexLatino

The Associated Press Contributed to this report. 

Follow us on
Like us at