Syria cease-fire talks: Russia, Iran and Turkey agree on 'de-escalation' zones

Turkey, Iran and Russia have agreed to establish four “de-escalation” zones in Syria in an effort to halt a seven-year war devastating the country.

The deal, worked out in Syrian cease-fire talks in the Kazakh capital of Astana on Thursday, calls for the coordination of four zones in the northern, central and southern parts of the war-torn country.


Some members of the Syrian opposition delegation yelled in protest and walked out of the conference room after the agreement was signed. They’re opposed to Iran’s involvement at the conference and have accused the country of being involved in the war, which has killed about 400,000 people to date.

The agreement recognized efforts to “end all use of weapons, including by aircrafts between clashing parties,” the Turkish Foreign Ministry said. It’ll also work to ensure the movement of humanitarian aid.

"Non-conflict zones" will be specifically established throughout Idlib province and in parts of Lattakia, Aleppo, Hama and Homs provinces and in the Damascus suburb of Eastern Ghouta.  It would also apply to areas of Daraa and Quneitra provinces.

Turkey has said that it will continue to work toward holding the current cease-fire in order to facilitate a broader political solution.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.