Saudi Arabia, UAE and Bahrain agree to return ambassadors to Qatar, signaling near end to rift

Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates and Bahrain will reinstate their ambassadors to Qatar after withdrawing them in an unprecedented move eight months ago.

The six-nation Gulf Cooperation Council, which also includes Kuwait and Oman, had been rattled by the rift in relations that was widely seen as a result of Qatar's support for Islamist groups like the Muslim Brotherhood throughout the region.

A regional security agreement had essentially called on Qatar to stop supporting organizations that threaten the Gulf's stability. Qatar has since forced top Egyptian Muslim Brotherhood figures to leave and seek refuge elsewhere.

The decision to reinstate ambassadors came after rulers of the GCC member-states met in Saudi Arabia and released a statement early Monday heralding the "opening of a new page" in relations.