EU to weigh visa measures against US, Canada, Brunei

European Union nations and lawmakers have been told to hold urgent talks on how to respond to the failure of the U.S., Canada and Brunei to extend visa rights to citizens of all 28 member states.

The European Commission invited them Tuesday "to urgently launch discussions and to take a position on the most appropriate way forward" within three months.

The talks could lead to visa requirements being imposed on people from the three countries.

EU officials say the U.S. requires visas for travelers from Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Poland and Romania. Canada demands them for Bulgarians and Romanians.

Top EU interior affairs official Dimitris Avramopoulos pledged to "continue pursuing a balanced and fair outcome" in talks with the U.S., Canada and Brunei.