The European Union's legislature is taking three small measures against Russian officials in retaliation for Moscow's banning of 89 politicians from 17 European countries from entering the nation.

EU Parliament President Martin Schulz said Tuesday that pending the lifting of the blacklist, the EU parliament will restrict access to its premises for two top Russian diplomats, assess access to the legislature of members of Russia's Duma and the Federation Council on a case by case basis and suspend cooperation with an EU-Russia committee.

Russia said it set up the blacklist in response to EU economic sanctions and travel bans imposed on Russia for its actions in Ukraine. Relations between the EU and Russia have progressively worsened over the past decade.