Here is a look at the 15 members of the U.N. Security Council.

There are five permanent members with veto power:

-- The United States

-- Russia

-- China

-- Britain

-- France

There are 10 members selected by regional groups for two-year terms. They do not have veto power:

-- Bulgaria

-- Cameroon

-- Colombia

-- Guinea

-- Ireland

-- Mauritius

-- Mexico

-- Norway

-- Singapore

-- Syria

The presidency of the Security Council rotates every month in alphabetical order. Bulgaria is the current president.

A resolution requires a minimum of nine "yes" votes and no veto by a permanent member.