A group of seven east African nations say they will impose travel bans and freeze the assets of Somali leaders who obstruct the country's peace process.

The country's divided government is on the brink of collapse after Islamist insurgents seized control of much of the country's south.

Foreign ministers of the Intergovernmental Authority on Development announced the sanctions Tuesday. They did not identify any leaders in a statement. Many Somali lawmakers and leaders have homes and businesses in neighboring countries.

Somalia is a member of the group and Foreign Minister Ali Ahmed Jama said he supported the decision.

It comes just days after the divided government failed to form a Cabinet. Somalia has not had an effective government for 17 years.