Westwood wins Indonesian Masters in playoff

Jakarta, Indonesia (SportsNetwork.com) - Lee Westwood birdied the first playoff hole on Sunday to defeat Chapchai Nirat and win the Indonesian Masters.

Westwood struggled to a 1-over 73 in the final round at Royale Jakarta Golf Club, while Nirat fired a 6-under 66 to forge a tie at 7-under-par 281.

The duo returned to the 18th for the extra session. Westwood converted his birdie effort before Nirat missed his birdie try to give Westwood his third win at this event.

Westwood, who had a five-shot lead to start the day, had seven pars and two bogeys on the front nine. He seemingly put things out of reach with three birdies in the first four holes around the turn.

The Englishman, who also won this title in 2011 and 2012, bogeyed 16 and 17 to fall into a tie with Nirat. Westwood had a birdie chance at 18, but failed to convert and he was off to the playoff.

Nirat, who was three groups ahead of Westwood, carded three birdies and a bogey on the front nine. Four birdies over the final eight holes gave Nirat a share of the top spot.

Kalem Richardson closed with a 67 to grab third place at minus-6. Thomas Bjorn, who shared the first-round lead, posted a 2-under 70 on Sunday and ended alone in fourth at 5-under-par 283.

Former PGA Championship winner Y.E. Yang (71) and Thitiphun Chuayprakong (69) shared fifth at minus-4.