SEC has 4 teams selected as NCAA regional hosts

NEW YORK (AP) — The Southeastern Conference had four schools — Arkansas, Auburn, Florida and South Carolina — selected Sunday as hosts for the NCAA Division I baseball tournament.

The Atlantic Coast Conference, with Georgia Tech, Miami and Virginia, had three schools chosen as sites for the four-team, double-elimination regionals, which start next week.

Other hosts include: Arizona State, Cal State Fullerton, Coastal Carolina, Connecticut, Louisville, Oklahoma, Texas, TCU and UCLA. All games will be played on campus sites, except for the regionals at Coastal Carolina and Connecticut.

The games at Coastal Carolina will be in Myrtle Beach, S.C., at BB&T Coastal Field, home of the Atlanta Braves' Carolina League affiliate. The regional hosted by Connecticut will be played at Dodd Stadium, the home ballpark of the Detroit Tigers' New York-Penn League team in Norwich, Conn.

All 16 host schools are assured of spots in the 64-team tournament, with the rest of the field to be announced by the Division I baseball committee Monday.

Texas, ranked No. 1 in several polls throughout the season, is hosting for the 25th time. Louisville, TCU and UCLA are hosting for the second time.

Arizona State, Cal State Fullerton, Florida, Georgia Tech, Louisville, Oklahoma, Texas and TCU also hosted last season.

Each of the 16 regional winners advance to the super regionals, with the eight remaining teams earning trips to the College World Series in Omaha, Neb., beginning June 19.