Round 1 in Xfinity Series 'Dash 4 Cash' takes place at Dover

Dover, DE ( - The "Dash 4 Cash" is on in the Xfinity Series this weekend at Dover International Speedway.

The top-four finishing Xfinity regulars (points-eligible drivers in the series) in last Saturday's race at Charlotte qualified for the first round in this year's four-race bonus program from Comcast and its Xfinity brand, which is the new title sponsor of NASCAR's second-tier series this year. Nationwide Insurance had been the title sponsor of the series from 2008-14.

Those drivers who qualified for Dover based on their finishes at Charlotte include: Regan Smith (fourth-place finish), Darrell Wallace Jr. (fifth), Daniel Suarez (sixth) and Ty Dillon seventh. Wallace and Suarez are rookies in the series this year.

The highest finisher among those four at Dover will collect a $100,000 bonus. That person as well as the next three highest-finishing series regulars here will qualify for the second round, which is scheduled for July 25 at Indianapolis. The final two Dash 4 Cash races this season are Bristol (Aug. 21) and Darlington (Sept. 5).

Last year's Dash 4 Cash tracks were New Hampshire, Chicagoland, Indianapolis and Iowa. The top-four finishers from the July race at Daytona had qualified for New Hampshire.

If one driver wins the Dash 4 Cash bonus at Dover, Indianapolis and Bristol and then scores the victory in the Darlington race, that person will be awarded an additional $600,000, bringing the total payout to $1 million.

"The Dash 4 Cash is a great program that Xfinity puts on, and it's cool to see them change up the racetracks," said Smith, who won the $100,000 bonus at New Hampshire in 2014. "Obviously, Xfinity was paying attention when they did that, picking four really difficult tracks. There's nothing easy about any of those tracks.

"You give the guys who are running the series full-time a little added incentive. We already have a lot of incentive, but when you throw a little extra money on the line, we're certainly not going to argue with that. I appreciate the support that Xfinity has given us this year, and continuing programs like this one."

Smith, currently fifth in the point standings (41 points behind leader Chris Buescher), has finished 15th or better in his last four starts at Dover, while Dillon, who is just four points out of the lead, has placed eighth and 10th in his previous two races at this track. Wallace started on pole and finished 12th in his first Xfinity race here in September 2012. Suarez has yet to make a start at Dover.

Forty teams are on the entry list for the Buckle Up 200. Austin Dillon, Kasey Kahne and Matt Kenseth are those Sprint Cup Series regulars scheduled to compete in this race.

Series: NASCAR Xfinity. Date: Saturday, May 30. Race: Buckle Up 200. Site: Dover International Speedway. Track: 1-mile oval. Start time: 2:30 p.m. ET. Laps: 200. Miles: 200. 2014 Winner: Kyle Busch. Television: FOX. Radio: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio.