San Diego, CA (SportsNetwork.com) - The Baseball Hall of Fame announced Monday that none of the 10 players on the Golden Era ballot received enough votes to be inducted this season.

Infielder Dick Allen and outfielder Tony Oliva fell one vote short and pitcher Jim Kaat was two votes shy of the 12 required for election.

The 16-member Golden Era committee is tasked to consider the ballot of candidates whose contributions to the game were most significant from 1947-72.

It was made up of Hall of Fame members Jim Bunning, Rod Carew, Pat Gillick, Ferguson Jenkins, Al Kaline, Joe Morgan, Ozzie Smith and Don Sutton; major league executives Dave Dombrowski, Jim Frey, David Glass and Roland Hemond; and veteran media members Steve Hirdt, Dick Kaegel, Phil Pepe and Tracy Ringolsby.

Shortstop Maury Wills received nine votes from the committee and outfielder Minnie Minoso garnered eight.

Ken Boyer, Gil Hodges, Bob Howsam, Billy Pierce and Luis Tiant each received fewer than three votes.

The committee works on a three-year cycle and won't consider candidates again until 2017.

Next year, the Pre-Integration Era Committee -- which met previously in 2012 -- will consider candidates whose main career contributions came from baseball's origins through 1946.